Wild About Horses

Wild About Horses: Our Timeless Passion for the Horse by Lawrence Scanlan….. took me around a week and some days to read… I have no idea why. Maybe it takes me longer to read nonfiction books than fiction books because there isn’t any fantasy, or hardly any in them. But I don’t mind… it gives me time to enjoy the book, as long as it isn’t completely boring….. I wonder if I should try to read the dictionary…? Back to subject. XD The book is really a compilation of every scrap of horse history (at the time it was written) that was available. Each chapter is dedicated to something in particular, war horses, horse whisperers, sport horses, horses from Hollywood, one on ponies, one on horses who have gone long distances… for example, one woman rode a horse named Pompeii from one end of Russia to the other in 1995. Is that cool or what? And there is a section called “Further Reading”. It gives pages and pages of books and other things Lawrence Scalan read, listened, and watched to get the information for his book. It is 342 pages long, including “Further Reading”. And he mentioned an hour long radio documentary in it, it’s called On the Skyline Trail, it was done by Kathleen Flaherty…. now that I know that, I only need someone to explain to me why my library doesn’t have it, and only has the transcript… the transcript will not suffice! The transcript does not have the clip clopping of the horses hooves! It doesn’t have the birdsong in it! Why!? Why can’t my library have the actual recording of the documentary?! It just sucks. I pouted for quite awhile. Besides tons of horse stuff to suck into your brain, there are lots of pictures too, of horses by themselves mostly, but there are those which have humans in them too… no offense to the general human race, but I enjoyed the ones with horses only more. XD At one point, he tells the reader (you, me, everyone) about a story a person he talked to told him, she was little, and she drove by a herd of horses with her dad, she asked him what they were. He told her they were horses, and she said “Where’s my horse?” I found that so sweet. 🙂 Especially seeing as when I was little I believed we could fit a barn into our backyard……. which of course, would be impossible with the tiny size of that one. XD I must find some way to get riding lessons or something….. reading horse books just cannot be done without horses coming into your life somewhere….. at least, as far as I’m concerned. It’s not fair if fictional characters get to ride horses while you don’t! So check out this book, it’s a great read, and there are quite a few sweet or funny stories. And if outrageous ratings count, I give this a 100 out of 10. XD

– LCD

About Adaraschia

I'm an aspiring author and lover of mythology. And wolves and my sister's Apple Cobbler. And horse stuff. And... [signal blocked]
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wild About Horses

  1. Z says:

    Have you tried looking up that radio show on YouTube? It is possible. I found Orson Wells’ “War of the Worlds” on there.

  2. MissKittyInTheCity says:

    Here is the link! 🙂

Leave a Reply

