Labyrinth

From 1986 comes Labyrinth. “Big deal, who cares?” ^_^ I do, mainly because this is another video my parents showed me as a kid. Of course, when I was a kid, I had never heard of David Bowie (at least, I don’t think I had). I just liked the movie because of the puppets and stuff. Anyway, I should stop reminiscing and start reviewing…. (I say “I should start reviewing now” way too often). The main characters are Sarah, a teenager, King Jareth, the goblin king (played by David Bowie), and I’d say Toby, Sarah’s little brother. Even though Toby isn’t really shown through most of the movie. If we’re basing the main character on who is shown the most, it would be Sarah, Hoggle, and Ludo. Sir Didymus wasn’t in there long enough to be a main character, even though he and his “noble steed” (an old english sheepdog called Ambrosius) are very amusing.

At the start of the movie, Sarah is reciting lines from her book Labyrinth to a barn owl that sits watching her, then she realizes it is seven o’clock and she races home as it starts raining. Her sheepdog (Mullen I think his name was) is very sweet. But then again, I think all old english sheepdogs look fuzzy, cute, adorable, and cuddly. They do though! All that grey and white fur, hidding their eyes. But this review isn’t about sheepdogs. Back to the story. ^_^ So she gets home and her stepmother starts telling her off and saying things like “your father and I don’t go out very often…” to which Sarah says “you go out every weekend!” In the end, Sarah storms to her room and her stepmother says to her father “she treats me like an evil stempother!” I have to say that she does. She looked decidedly suspicious. But maybe that was just her makeup. Anyway, Sarah continues finding things to get angry about, finally discovering that one of her teddybears, Lancelot, is missing. She goes to her parent’s room where a crying Toby is located. Lancelot is on the floor, she picks him up and starts telling Toby to be quiet. No matter what she does, he keeps on crying. Eventually, she wishes that the goblins would come and take him, adding “right now”. As she goes to her room, Toby stops crying abruptly.

She goes back and finds him gone. A barn owl beats against the window, until it suddenly opens and King Jareth appears. Sarah discovers that he took Toby as she wished. She pleads to have Toby back, and Jareth says that if she can solve his labyrinth in thirteen hours she may have Toby back. If she fails, Toby will become a goblin and be Jareth’s forever. Strange don’t you think? I think it’s weird, especially seeing as this was supposedly a kid friendly movie. Wouldn’t babies being kidnapped and bog’s of eternal stench and all that be rather scary to children? Anyway, she goes towards the labyrinth as Jareth disappears saying “what a pity” in an echoing voice. At the start she finds a dwarf named Hoggle, who is spraying fairies so they won’t bite people.

Hoggle isn’t exactly the most handsome dwarf around, but he’s quite funny. Sarah asks him where the entrance is, only to discover she walked right by it while talking to him. He waves his hands and the door opens, then after trying to get her to reconsider going inside, he exits and closes the doors by waving his hands again. Sarah starts going down one way, because it seems to extend forever in both directions. Eventually she meets a worm-like creature which tells her that there’s a turning right in front of her, she goes forward and apparently walks through a wall. She goes off one way but the creature tells her not that way, “no one ever goes that way”. She thanks him and goes the other way. He sighs and said “you should have gone that way, it would have taken you straight to the castle”. So that might have been a lesson against trusting a total stranger.

She continues through the labyrinth, getting thoroughly lost.  There are lots of puppets, and at one point Jareth starts singing “Magic Dance” (I think that was the song name), and tosses Toby in the air. Of course, that was probably a dummy, but still. The movie is a very good one, my favorite characters have to be Sir Didymus and Ambrosius. My favorite place in the movie has to be the strange twisted stair world inside the castle. Where Sarah would be standing on the top (or maybe the bottom?) of a platform, and Jareth would appear bellow (or maybe above?) her. That was really cool. 😀 I just loved that part. And the part where Sir Didymus had to say to Ambrosius “turn around this instant or I will never feed you again!” to get him to turn to the battle. My favorite line from him had to be “you’re going the wrong way! The battle is behind us!” His “steed” is a coward, of course he’s going to run from the battle! Ah I loved Didymus. A very good character. Of course, if I could, I would make this whole review about Didymus. Another interesting thing about him was that when they met him in the bog of eternal stench, he couldn’t smell it. I’m wondering if he had lost his sense of smell at one point in some battle, but I don’t think it was ever mentioned if he did.

It’s quite a good movie, I recommend it if you like movies with puppets. Or if you just like fantasy movies. This supplies both, a little too much of the puppets, but the puppets are one of the things that made this movie so lovable. One part kept on reminding me of the Muppet Show actually. 😛

– LCD

About Adaraschia

I'm an aspiring author and lover of mythology. And wolves and my sister's Apple Cobbler. And horse stuff. And... [signal blocked]
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Labyrinth

  1. MissKittyInTheCity says:

    A David Bowie post from you? Oh no! I just looked out my window and cows are flying!!!! 🙂

    • LCD says:

      Ha ha, very funny. 😛 What, did I make a biased comment about him in there? :O I hope I didn’t. This is supposed to be a review blog, not a complaints blog.

  2. MissKittyInTheCity says:

    Having had the highest honour and being able to meet the genius behind Chaos of LCD since they were a little peanut, I have witnessed the head shaking and eye rolling when your oldest sibling would talk all things DB, I also believe your younger sibling would run from the room when he was mentioned that was why I laughed when I saw a post concerning something he was in. I thought he fell into the he-who-shall-not-be-named category? 😛 Before you send your squad of flying monkey’s to attack, know AK is just teasing you as my job title demands!!!! 🙂

    • LCD says:

      😛 Having had the “horror” of seeing some of the things I’m capable of when I’ve had too much sugar, I would have thought you’d be thinking of that rather than my protests about DB. ^_^ True, and veeeeeeeeerrrrryyyyyy funny I’m sure. No he hasn’t… yet. 😀 Okay, I know you’re just teasing me. Now may I send the flying monkeys? 😀

  3. Didn’t think I would comment, but…here I am. While watching, I noticed the song “Chilly Down” (in the scene with those creepy head-removing Muppets) has a melody structure similar-sounding to the Bowie/Queen collaboration “Under Pressure”. Listen and compare:

    Chilly Down

    Under Pressure

    I don’t know if this is just me, though, since I haven’t found anything so far to verify it or maybe I just have a finely tuned ear for this kind of thing.

    • LCD says:

      DON’T POST HIS MUSIC ON HERE! IT BURNZ! ^_^ Jk. I listened to that song from Labyrinth, but that doesn’t necessarily mean I have to listen to the other one.

      • MissKittyInTheCity says:

        Actually, it really does BURN! The Labyrinth clip made me cringe. A little creepy and dated for my tastes. 😦 Don’t tell Iman or David, they may come after me, too!

  4. Iman says:

    Don’t make me show this post to David. My husband may take it personally and send his minions to blast his music outside your home 24 hours until you submit your LOVE of all that is DB! Yes, this is the real Iman:) you are welcome for my presence! 🙂

  5. The Labyrinth is one of the very best movies, and that’s not just nostalgia talking.

    Speaking of Ambrosius and Didymus, check out one of my latest pointless and absurd Labyrinth blog posts, regarding the inherent oppression in their relationship:

    http://labyrinthfilm.com/general/labyrinth-questions-when-a-dog-rides-a-dog/

Leave a Reply

