The Call of the Wild

I read this book using the Classics2Go application, which has some realistic page-turning graphics (which I like). But if that was all I was going to say, I could have done a normal post. Seeing as that is NOT all I have to say, let me roll up my imaginary sleeves and get typing about the story “The Call of the Wild”, by Jack London. The main character of our story is a dog named Buck. I think he’s a cross, St. Bernard and German Shephard (judging by the book cover). I’m not entirely sure though. But breed doesn’t matter for the story, the actual character and writing does. So Buck lives the good life, he’s practically the king of the estate he lives on. There are other dogs, but they stay outside, or inside, while he goes anywhere. The fact that he goes outside and does lots of activities that involve running around, that means that he doesn’t become fat and lazy, like some dogs would.

Around this time, lots of dogs are needed up in the North for pulling sleighs. There’s a gardener on the estate who has some sort of money problem, so he sells Buck to some men. Buck keeps on fighting the whole way, so he’s knocked out of course. He wakes up on a train, I’ll skip this part because it just consists of Buck fighting and refusing to eat and all that. When he gets off the train, he is confronted by “the man in the red coat with the club”. Buck attacks him, but it doesn’t really do any good. The man knocks him away with the club you see.

After awhile, he stops attacking, but this isn’t because he now likes the man (that would just be stupid), but it’s because he’s become to respect the law of the wild, paw and claw or whatever. It’s not the sort of place where you give mercy. The story basically follows how he stops acting like he did before, like his father did, and his father’s father etc. etc. He stops acting like a domestic dog, and starts acting like a wild one, living the world that the wild dogs did, learning how to survive in snow, and getting muscles like steel.

This has to be one of my favorite dog stories. Why? Simply because it doesn’t have the dogs talking (yes I like stories that have dogs talking, but this is different!) and acting like dogs, not like humans. Honestly, can you expect a dog to have a human’s point of view on things like money? They don’t need money to buy food when they can hunt it for example. But I’m getting off topic. Buck is an amazing dog, and he did some crazy things, and I like him. He had some good handlers, and some stupid handlers, but the last one he had was the best, and was a good man. And when he died, Buck took revenge, then joined a wolf pack, a nice, happy ending in my opinion.

So all in all, I like this book, and will probably read it again some time in the future.

– LCD

About Adaraschia

I'm an aspiring author and lover of mythology. And wolves and my sister's Apple Cobbler. And horse stuff. And... [signal blocked]
This entry was posted in Book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

