Dragon’s Blood

It might say Trilogy on the cover, but don’t be fooled, it isn’t a trilogy, there are four books after all. Yes for a long while it was only three books, but hey….. the point is that it isn’t a trilogy now. Anyway…. now that my little bit of nonsense is out of the way, let’s start talking about the actual plot of the book.

On some distat star type place, there’s a kid called Jakkin who’s a bond servant. Bond servants (or was it slaves?) are little better than slaves (yeah, it was servants). They have to fill these leather bags around their necks with money to be able to buy their freedom. I really don’t like the sound of that. However, I do like the fact that they can steal dragons to fight in the pits for them, and that this way they can buy their way out of bond very very quickly.

Jakkin was going to steal a dragon egg, but he got injured (by a dragon, when a little spot of trouble happened in the stables. The dragon was killed, something I really didn’t like) and slept through the hatching, but he wasn’t going to give up. He went and stole a hatchling instead. He raised her in a little oasis he’d found, and kept on doing his chores etc. etc. This bond girl Akki finds the oasis and they take care of the ‘snatchling’ together. Once it’s grown up, Akki gets a friend of her’s to bring a truck so that they can ransport the dragon to the pit, where his dragon will face off against someone else’s.

Akki disappears shortly with her friend, leaving Jakkin and his unnamed dragon. His dragon turns out to be mute, so she can’t roar, but she beats the older one. Then, the weeder who Jakkin doesn’t really like comes and starts licking the wound Jakkin’s dragon got. However, he has to stop because Jakkin’s bond with his dragon is so strong that she doesn’t like the guy either. The guy who owns Jakkin’s bond comes and after a bit of discussion, Jakkin finds out that Akki is *spoiler*’s *spoiler* and the guy says he’ll sponsor Jakkin. They name her Heart’s Blood and there’s the end of that book.

I don’t really remember too many details, so don’t get mad at me. 😉 Now that we’ve got the summary down, we can get on to my opinion! I like the dragons and the guy who owns Jakkin’s bond more than I like Jakkin, to tell the truth. And Akki is nice, but still… sometimes she acts really silly. And because of some of the things mentioned in this book, I’d say that this isn’t the sort of thing you’d read to children (especially inquisitive children) as a bedtime story.

The writing was good, and there wasn’t an overload of mythical creatures (though I love stories with that sort of thing. XD). I didn’t really like the way the dragons were described though. They sounded sort of like a bunch of Tyrannosaurus rex with wings and long necks. I mean come on! Short front legs? I prefer dragons with legs that are all the same length thank you, either that, or dragons who’ve got arms instead of front legs, but not dragons who’ve got tiny front legs. It makes them sound pathetic to me.

That said, I loved everything else about the dragons. 😛 So yeah, this book is good, and I’d recommend it to peope fo sho. 😉

– LCD

About Adaraschia

I'm an aspiring author and lover of mythology. And wolves and my sister's Apple Cobbler. And horse stuff. And... [signal blocked]
This entry was posted in Book reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dragon’s Blood

  1. Sweet review 🙂 Did I give you all the books, or just the first?

Leave a Reply

