RTW: Book endings

Oh dear… oh DEAR…….

This Week’s Topic:
If you could rewrite the ending of any book, how would you rewrite it and why?

WHAT AM I GONNA DO?! *shakes random person by the shoulders* The inner voice commands me to be calm, but how can I? There are so many books I’d like to change the ending of, but know I just couldn’t!

Before I actually choose a book and explain what I’d change, let me say something. I am a happy-endings lover. As in, if there’s a sad ending, I will stay up for a couple of hours at night, listening to dark, angsty music while thinking darkly of the ending. The last half hour of this night time brooding has me switching to happy music (take, for example, Magic by Olivia Newton John) and imagining a completely different ending for the characters, and yours truly throttling the bad guys. I believe that this is some form of fanfiction, but seeing as I never get around to writing it down….. well….. I’d like to call it Mind-enders-fiction. Or MEF for short. ^_^

The first book I thought of changing the ending for when I read the prompt was The Reptile Room, the second book in A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. I LOVED Uncle Monty! Him dying upset me so much. And being denied ownership of the Incredibly Deadly Viper. 😦 Sorry if I’m giving away the ending to you, and you were thinking of reading the book. My ending would involve Uncle Monty having listened to the kids when they told him about Olaf being…. Olaf. And he’d have called the police, Olaf would have been arrested, and Uncle Monty would be safe! 😀 And then they could all have cake and enjoy playing with the Incredibly Deadly Viper. ^_^ It sounds a lot better in my head, I assure you.

And now to post this then link to it in a comment on the RTW post…..

– LCD

About Adaraschia

I'm an aspiring author and lover of mythology. And wolves and my sister's Apple Cobbler. And horse stuff. And... [signal blocked]
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to RTW: Book endings

  1. Kate says:

    I think that’s the sign of a good book– continuing to think about it long after it’s over, even if it means you’re compulsively rewriting the end. 🙂

    • LCD says:

      Yeah. Especially if you’re telling yourself you hated the whole book but a tiny voice keeps going “oh no you didn’t, I was here the whole time you read that and you most certainly didn’t hate it until you reached [insert point of book where you started to hate it]”. Thanks for commenting! 😛

  2. Alicia says:

    I agree. A lot of books where I wasn’t happy with the outcome had me thinking about it for days or weeks later.

  3. Kristin says:

    A book that makes me feel is a treasure, even if it upsets me. I haven’t read the ending to Unfortunate Events – have to get on that! 🙂

  4. Erinn says:

    Nice post, I’ve never read the Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket I just didn’t get it. I tried, I really did. But I couldn’t do it.

    It’s fun playing book editor, isn’t it.

    • LCD says:

      It’s okay, not everyone likes them. And yes it is! 😀 Now I’ve just gotta stop procrastinating and finish the first draft of my book so I can write the second draft and play editor on that. >.<

  5. Veronica says:

    I understand the whole happy endings thing, but I think I’m a mixed ending kind of girl. Like, some things are tied up and worked out okay, but some things loom over you as sad or unsettled in some way– that’s my perfect ending.

  6. The only book I intentionally rewrote the ending for was Stephen Fry’s “The Stars Tennis Balls”, a contemporary take on “The Count of Monte Cristo”. I felt sorry for Ned and felt he should have been redeemed in some way as Edmond Dantes was. It seems I’ve lost what I wrote, though.

Leave a Reply

